Specialist Laos & all around Asia
General info about Laos

Home > General info about Laos > Photo Gallery > Central Laos > Vientiane Capital

Vientiane Capital

Vientiane Capital (Nakhornluang Vientiane), used to call “Kam Pheng Nakhorn Vientiane” (Prefecture of Vientiane), located in the north-west of the country on the bank of the Mekong River. It is the capital city of Lao PDR with a population of 692.900, about 10% of the whole population of the country and with an area of 3.920 Km2 square kilometres and the density of 176 inhabitants/Km2. It is the centre of culture, commerce and administration in Laos. It has 9 districts. It has border with Vientiane Province to the West and to the North, with Bolikhamxay Province; to the East and to the South with Thailand (Nongkhai Province) separated by the Mekong River. It has 9 districts. Vientiane’s major attractions are the That Luang Stupa, the Patuxay, the Hoprakeo, the Vat Sisaket, Vat Simuang, the Buddha Park and some shopping centres as Talad Sao...