Specialist Laos & all around Asia
General info about Laos

Home > General info about Laos > Photo Gallery > Central Laos > Luang Prabang Province

Luang Prabang Province

Luang Prabang Province is located in the North of the central Laos, Its capital city is Luang Prabang. It has border with Oudomxay, Phongsaly and Vietnam and Houaphanh in the North, Vientiane and Sayaboury Provinces in the South and South-West and Xieng Province in the East. Its area is 16.875 Km2 and its population is 408.800 inhabitants with 24 inhabitants/Km2. It is made of 10 districts. The population in the capital city is about 76.000 people. Its population consist of Khmu Ethnic group about 44%, the Hmong Ethnic group about 16% and the lowlander “Lao loum” about 39%.
Luang Prabang is the most visited province after Vientiane Capital. Luang Prabang is well known as the site of Lao culture with people and the traditions, temples, historical monuments. The province is surrounded by many types of natural beauties. Luang Prabang City was registered as World Heritage Site on 2nd December 1995.
The highlights of Luang Prabang are: lovely people with their traditions, temples (Vat Xieng Thong, Vat Visoun, Vat Aham, Vat Mai, Vat Phabatai…), waterfalls (Kwangsi Waterfall, Tad Sae Waterfall), Museum (former royal palace), Phousi Mount, ethnic villages (Hmong Long Lao Village, Hmong Long Lan Village), elephant riding, trekking, cycling, kayaking, rafting…