Specialist Laos & all around Asia
General info about Laos

Home > General info about Laos > Photo Gallery > Central Laos > Khammouane Province

Khammouane Province

Khammouane Province is located in the center of the country. To the north it is bounded by Bolikhamxai; to the south, by Savannakhet. To the west is the Mekong and Nakhon Phanom Province, Thailand; to the east, the Annamite Mountain Range separates Khammouan from Vietnam.

Its capital city is Thakhek. Its area is 16.315 Km2 and its population is 358.800 inhabitants with the density of 22 inhabitants/Km2. The vast forests of the Nakai-Nam Theun Biodiversity Conservation Area are an important watershed that feed many Mekong tributaries as well as form the catchment area for Nam Theun 2 the largest hydropower project in Laos.

The Xebangfay, Hinboun and Nam Theun are the main rivers of the province. The province composes of 9 districts.